Guwahati, 3rd of August, 2017: Teachers of the North East region will have their contributions to the various aspects of teaching appreciated and honoured with the announcement of the 1st BOOKLAND TEACHERS’ EXCELLENCE AWARDS-2017. This was announced in a press conference held at the Guwahati Press Club today. The yearly award has been planned to encourage the young generation towards the profession of teaching and to honour the dedicated teachers.

The meet was addressed by an elite panel that included Dr Laksminandan Borah, Reputed Litterateur; Sri Dhirendra Nath Chakravarty, eminent Journalist; Dr Ruhini Kumar Baruah, IAS & Reputed writer; Dr Surendra Mohan Mahanta, educationist and former professor of Cotton College; Dr Dilip Kumar Kalita, Director, Anandaram Baruah Institute of Language, Art and Culture (ABILAC); Sri Bimal Kumar Hazarika, educationist, writer & ACS (Retd.) and Dr Pulak Bhattacharyya, educationist and national award winner in the field of education.

New books of Bookland publication launched by Dr Laksminandan Borah, Dhirendra Nath Chakravarty, Dr Rohini Kumar Barua, Dr Surendra Mohan Mahanta, Bimal kumar Hazarika, Dr Dilip Kumar Kalita and Dr Pulak Bahttacharyya at the Guwahati Press Club on 3rd of August, 2017

BOOKLAND TEACHERS’ EXCELLENCE AWARD 2017 intends to honour primary and secondary level teachers of Assam who have contributed to the various fields of teaching. Awards would cover diverse categories including innovative teaching-learning methods, making a notable difference in life and career of students; demonstrating understanding and integration of community diversity into classroom practices; and demonstrating a personal commitment to personal lifelong learning. The organizers aim to spread the award to the entire NE region from next year.

Nominations will be received through the Principal/ Headmaster of the applicant’s school from 5th of August, 2017. The last date for submission of nominations is 30th of November, 2017. The Award Ceremony will be held in the month of January, 2018. The nominations forms will be available at Bookland Publication, MLN Road, Panbazar, Guwahati-1 or can be asked online by sending an email to Each school will be allowed to nominate three teachers and a maximum of 100 teachers will be selected for the awards through intensive screening and follow up by an expert panel. The awards would be open to any teacher from any recognized public or government school of the region. There will be no fees involved and 93 of the 100 selected teachers would be awarded certificate, mementos and gifts. The other seven teachers would be selected for the final awards with prize money.

Award categories:

  1. Best Teacher Award [Prize Money Rs.12001/-] and Runner up Award [Prize Money Rs.10,001/-] for innovative teaching methods.
  2. Best Teacher Award [Prize Money Rs.12001/-] and Runner up Award [Prize Money Rs.10,001/-] for Excellence in Co-curricular activities.
  3. Best Pre-Primary teacher-2017.[Prize Money Rs.10,001/-]
  4. Malati Nath Memorial Teacher of the Year Award, 2017. [Prize Money Rs.20,001/-]
  5. Binod Nath Memorial Life Time Achievement Award, 2017: For outstanding performance in social contribution through teaching.[Prize Money Rs.30,001/-].

The Meet concluded with the release of number of publications from Book Land which included the much awaited Q-riosity series [GK with extra emphasis on the North East and on essential Life Skills] and series of books on English titled Expressions, Science, Assamese and activity based books for the pre primary level. The books were released by the honourable dignitaries on the dias. The most notable feature about these books is their incorporation of various aspects and folklore from the northeast which most other books lack. Some of the books have already been shortlisted for the international market.



Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *